Dr. Jazz drjazz at drjazz.com
Wed Nov 15 23:15:15 EST 2006


<http://www.tbpac.com/shows/show.cfm?recordID=1747>Preservation Hall Jazz 
Band has been awarded the 2006 National Medal of Arts, the nation's highest 
honor for artistic excellence. Dedicated to preserving New Orleans Jazz, 
the world-renowned Preservation Hall Jazz Band performs traditional New 
Orleans music and derives its name from the venerable music 
venue--<http://www.preservationhall.com/2.0/>The Preservation Hall which is 
located in the heart of the French Quarter in New Orleans, Louisiana. (They 
will also be playing a Creole Christmas program at TBPAC on Dec. 14 - ed.)

Founded in 1961 by Alan & Sandra Jaffe, who sought to perpetuate the 
traditional jazz music of New Orleans, the Preservation Hall Jazz Band has 
toured the country and the world as emissaries of this unique American art 
form. "We are honored to be recipients of this prestigious honor." states 
Ben Jaffe, Creative Director and son of founders Alan and Sandra Jaffe.

Home to such jazz greats as Willie and Percy Humphrey, George Lewis, famed 
pianist Sweet Emma Barret, Kid Thomas Valentine and many others over its 45 
year history, the musical legacy of the Preservation Hall Jazz Bands is 
being carried on by current band members Carl LeBlanc, Ralph Johnson, 
Joseph Lastie Jr., Rickie Monie, Frank Demond, John Brunious, Walter 
Payton, Lucien Barbarin, newcomer Clint Maedgen and Ben Jaffe. "These 
gentlemen are responsible for perpetuating the traditions that gave birth 
to the United States of America's gift to the International Arts Community, 
JAZZ" states Jaffe, continuing "It is these traditions that are in 
jeopardy. We are committed to rebuilding the New Orleans cultural community 
brick by brick."

Immediately after Hurricane Katrina, the Preservation Hall Jazz Band 
embarked on a world tour bringing attention to the critical needs of New 
Orleans and its musicians. In order to provide immediate assistance to 
musicians, Ben and his wife Sarah Jaffe founded the New Orleans Musicians 
Hurricane Relief Fund, <http://www.nomhrf.org/>www.nomhrf.org. The fund has 
provided grants to musicians and businesses in New Orleans; Jaffe adds "The 
rebirth of New Orleans is intrinsically tied to the resilience of its 
musical culture."

The National Medal of Arts, established by Congress in 1984, is awarded by 
the President to those who have made extraordinary contributions to the 
creation, growth, and support of the arts in the United States. Each year, 
the Arts Endowment seeks nominations from individuals and organizations 
across the country. The National Council on the Arts, the Arts Endowment's 
Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed advisory body reviews the 
nominations and provides recommendations to the President, who selects the 

"These individuals and organizations have all made enduring contributions 
to the artistic life of our nation," said National Endowment for the Arts 
Chairman Dana Gioia "Whether by translating the masterpieces of Latin 
American literature or bringing genius to the design of everyday objects or 
simply preserving the great musical heritage of New Orleans, their work has 
enriched our national culture."

The 2006 National Medal of Arts Recipients

William Bolcom, classical composer, Ann Arbor, MI

Cyd Charisse, dancer, Los Angeles, CA

Roy R. DeCarava, photographer, Brooklyn, NY

Wilhelmina Holladay, arts patron, Washington, DC

Interlochen Center for the Arts, school of fine arts, Interlochen, MI

Erich Kunzel, conductor, Cincinnati Pops Orchestra, Cincinnati, OH

Preservation Hall Jazz Band, jazz ensemble, New Orleans, LA

Gregory Rabassa, literary translator, Brooklyn, NY

Viktor Schreckengost, industrial designer/sculptor, Cleveland, OH

Dr. Ralph Stanley, bluegrass musician, Coeburn, VA

Dr. Jazz
Dr. Jazz Operations
24270 Eastwood
Oak Park, MI  48237
(248) 542-7888
SKYPE:  drjazz99 

More information about the jazzproglist mailing list