[JPL] 2007 Jazz Journalists Association Winners

Jazz Promo Services jazzpromo at earthlink.net
Fri Jun 29 14:50:34 EDT 2007

promoting the interests of journalists covering jazz

Andrew Hill (1931-2007), JJA 2007 Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Award Winner
Photo by Jimmy Katz, courtesy Boosey & Hawkes

NEW YORK ­ June 29 2007
Two icons of avant-garde jazz --  saxophonist-composer Ornette Coleman and
pianist-composer Andrew Hill ­ were celebrated with highest honors at the
2007 Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards, during a luncheon at the Jazz
Standard on June 28, attended by some 100 movers and shakers of the national
jazz scene.
Voting members of the JJA, a non-profit professional organization, cited
Coleman, who received a Pulitzer Prizer earlier in 2007, as Musician of the
Year, Alto Saxophonist of the Year; named Sound Grammar, his quartet release
on his own Sound Grammar label, Record of the Year and the quartet itself
Small Group of the Year. Hill, who died of lung cancer on April 20, was
voted the Jazz Award for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz, Jazz Composer of the
Year, and Pianist of the Year; he had performed in trio as recently as weeks
before his death.
Other top honoreees in 41 categories (detailed below) were ­ Anat Cohen, Up
and Coming Artist and Clarinest of the Year; Sonny Rollins, Tenor
Saxophonist of the Year, Charles Tolliver for leadeing the Big Band of the
Year, and Roy Haynes, Drummer of the Year. Francis Davis, columnist for the
Village Voice, contributor to the Atlantic Monthly and author of several
books on music and culture, was voted recognition for Lifetime Achievement
in Jazz Journalism.
Davis, Cohen, Tolliver and Haynes were among the winners and nominees in
attendance, along with representatives from sponsoring organizations BMI,
Boosey & Hawkes, Blue Note Records, Concord Records, ECM (voted Label of the
Year), Mosaic, Iridium Jazz Club, WBGO, and past-honored JJA Lifetime
Achievement in Jazz winners Gary Giddins, Dan Morgenstern, and Howard
Mandel, who presided over the event. Pianist Frank Kimbrough performed a
tribute to Andrew Hill, following a toast by BMI's Robbin Ahrold, "To
Andrew." Joanne Robinson Hill, his wife, received the Awards with
acknowledgement Andrew would have loved the Award event's buffet of the Jazz
Standard's acclaimed barbeque.
The following are all the winners of 2007 Jazz Awards. For further
information, visit www. Jazzhouse.org, and/or contact
<mailto:hman at jazzhouse.org> , 212 533 9495.
Lifetime Achievement in Jazz
Andrew Hill
Musician of the Year
Ornette Coleman
Up & Coming Musician of the Year
Anat Cohen
Jazz Album of the Year
Sound Grammar 
(Sound Grammar)
Ornette Coleman
Jazz Reissue of the Year, Single CD
Music Written for Monterey 1965 Not Heard: At UCLA 1965 
Charles Mingus
Jazz Reissue of the Year, Boxed Set
The Complete 1957 Riverside Recordings 
Thelonious Monk with John Coltrane
Jazz Record Label of the Year
Jazz Events Producer of the Year
Patricia Nicholson Parker
Vision Festival/Arts for Art, Inc.
Jazz Composer of the Year
Andrew Hill
Jazz Arranger of the Year
Maria Schneider
Male Jazz Singer of the Year
Kurt Elling
Female Jazz Singer of the Year
Roberta Gambarini
Latin Jazz Album of the Year
Brian Lynch & Eddie Palmieri
Small Ensemble Group of the Year
Ornette Coleman Quartet
Large Ensemble of the Year
Charles Tolliver Big Band
Trumpeter of the Year
Dave Douglas
Trombonist of the Year
Wycliffe Gordon
Player of the Year of 
Instruments Rare in Jazz
Scott Robinson, multi-reeds
Alto Saxophonist of the Year
Ornette Coleman
Tenor Saxophonist of the Year
Sonny Rollins
Soprano Saxophonist of the Year
Dave Liebman
Baritone Saxophonist of the Year
Gary Smulyan
Clarinetist of the Year
Anat Cohen
Flutist of the Year
Frank Wess
Pianist of the Year
Andrew Hill
Organ-keyboards of the Year
Joey DeFrancesco
Guitarist of the Year
Pat Metheny
Acoustic Bassist of the Year
Dave Holland
Electric Bassist of the Year
Steve Swallow
Strings Player of the Year
Regina Carter
Mallets Player of the Year
Bobby Hutcherson
Percussionist of the Year
Cyro Baptista
Drummer of the Year
Roy Haynes
Jazz Journalism Lifetime Achievement Award
Francis Davis
Excellence in Jazz Broadcasting
The Willis Conover-Marian McPartland Award
Bob Porter
Excellence in Photography
The Lona Foote­Bob Parent Award
Gene Martin
Excellence in Newspaper, Magazine or Online Feature or Review Writing
The Helen Dance­Robert Palmer Award
Nate Chinen
Best Periodical Covering Jazz
Best Website Concentrating on Jazz
AllAboutJazz.com <http://www.allaboutjazz.com/>
Best Book About Jazz
The House That Trane Built: The Story Of Impulse Records 
(W. W. Norton) 
Ashley Kahn
Best Jazz Photo of the Year
John Abbott
A Team Awards (for activists, advocates, altruists, aiders and abettors of
jazz) to:
Leslie Johnson, publisher of the Mississippi Rag;
Bob Koester, owner of Chicago's Jazz Record Mart and Delmark Records;
Orrin Keepnews, record producer and writer;
Donald Harrison, artistic director, and Bill Taylor, executive director of
the New Orleans-based Tipitina's Foundation;
Clint Rosemond of The World Stage for inner city-outreach programs
Mark Masters of the American Jazz Institute;

Link to AP Story: 

Link To Frank Oteri New Music Box Story:

More information about the jazzproglist mailing list