[JPL] NEA Jazz Masters Nominations

Eric Jackson eric-jackson at comcast.net
Tue Oct 9 13:07:37 EDT 2007

Hi JPLers,

Tonight at midnight is the deadline for nominations for the NEA Jazz 
Masters Program. I've included information on the nomination process and 
I'm also including a link to the NEA website.

The link is http://www.nea.gov/national/jazz/Award.html

As I said, most of the text from that link appears below.


The National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Masters Fellowship is the 
highest honor that our nation bestows upon a jazz musician. Each year 
since 1982, the program has elevated to its ranks a select number of 
living legends who have made exceptional contributions to the 
advancement of jazz.

For the NEA Jazz Masters, the selection criteria are the excellence and 
significance of the nominees' contributions to the development and 
performance of jazz. The Arts Endowment will honor musicians who 
represent a range of styles and instruments. These awards will be 
categorical, e.g., a rhythm instrumentalist, pianist, solo 
instrumentalist, vocalist, and an arranger or composer.
NEA Jazz Masters logo

In addition, one fellowship -- the A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters 
Fellowship for Jazz Advocacy -- will be given to an individual who has 
made major contributions to the appreciation, knowledge, and advancement 
of the American jazz art form. In 2006, this award was designated in 
honor of A. B. Spellman, a jazz writer, accomplished poet, innovative 
arts administrator, and former NEA Deputy Chairman, who has dedicated 
much of his life to bringing the joy and artistry of jazz to all Americans.

The NEA Jazz Masters fellowship category is not open to application. 
Fellowships are awarded to living individuals on the basis of 
nominations from the public including the jazz community. The recipients 
must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States. Posthumous 
fellowships will not be awarded.

Each award is $25,000.
How to Submit a Nomination

An individual may submit only one nomination in each round of the 
National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Masters Fellowships. No one may 
nominate him/herself.


Nominations may be submitted online using the online nomination form.

By mail:

Submit a one-page letter that details the reasons that the nominee 
should receive a National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Masters 
Fellowship. Describe the nominee's contributions and explain why this 
individual deserves national recognition. Include with your nomination 
letter a resume or a short biography that outlines the career of the 
nominee and your name, street address, city, state, and email address.

Send your nomination to:

Jazz Masters Fellowships
National Endowment for the Arts
1100 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Room 703
Washington, DC 20506-0001
Deadline for Nominations

For FY 2008:

The deadline for nominations has passed. Fellowships will be announced 
in the fall of 2007.

For FY 2009:

Nominations must be submitted online or received (not postmarked) by 
mail at the Arts Endowment no later than 5:30 p.m., on October 9, 2007. 
Fellowships will be announced in the fall of 2008.
Review of Nominations

Nominations submitted to the Arts Endowment by the deadline are reviewed 
by an advisory panel of jazz experts and at least one knowledgeable 
layperson. Panel recommendations are forwarded to the National Council 
on the Arts, which then makes recommendations to the Chairman of the 
National Endowment for the Arts. The Chairman reviews the Council's 
recommendations and makes the final decision on all the award recipients.

Nominations that are not selected will be reviewed annually for the next 
four years.

NEA Jazz Masters 1982-2006

1982:  Roy Eldridge, Dizzy Gillespie, Sun Ra
1983:  Count Basie, Kenneth Clarke, Sonny Rollins
1984:  Ornette Coleman, Miles Davis, Max Roach
1985:  Gil Evans, Ella Fitzgerald, Jonathan "Jo" Jones
1986:  Benny Carter, Dexter Gordon, Teddy Wilson
1987:  Cleo Patra Brown, Melba Liston, Jay McShann
1988:  Art Blakey, Lionel Hampton, Billy Taylor
1989:  Barry Harris, Hank Jones, Sarah Vaughan
1990:  George Russell, Cecil Taylor, Gerald Wilson
1991:  Danny Barker, Buck Clayton, Andy Kirk, Clark Terry
1992:  Betty Carter, Dorothy Donegan, Harry "Sweets" Edison
1993:  Milt Hinton, Jon Hendricks, Joe Williams
1994:  Louie Bellson, Ahmad Jamal, Carmen McRae
1995:  Ray Brown, Roy Haynes, Horace Silver
1996:  Tommy Flanagan, J.J. Johnson, Benny Golson
1997:  Billy Higgins, Milt Jackson, Anita O'Day
1998:  Ron Carter, James Moody, Wayne Shorter
1999:  Dave Brubeck, Art Farmer, Joe Henderson
2000:  David Baker, Donald Byrd, Marian McPartland
2001:  John Lewis, Jackie McLean, Randy Weston
2002:  Frank Foster, Percy Heath, McCoy Tyner
2003:  Jimmy Heath, Elvin Jones, Abbey Lincoln
2004:  Jim Hall, Chico Hamilton, Herbie Hancock
            Luther Henderson, Nancy Wilson, Nat Hentoff
2005:  Kenny Burrell, Paquito D'Rivera, Slide Hampton, Shirley Horn,
            Artie Shaw, Jimmy Smith, George Wein
2006:  Ray Barretto, Tony Bennett, Bob Brookmeyer, Chick Corea,
            Buddy DeFranco, Freddie Hubbard, John Levy

More information about the jazzproglist mailing list