[JPL] Vinyl Side of Midnight set list; DECADES: Best of 2000s

Mike Stratton dreamtrane at gmail.com
Sun Dec 13 18:09:50 EST 2009

Vinyl Side of Midnight 2009

This is the playlist for this week’s Vinyl Side of Midnight, which can be
heard on 89.7 FM WLNZ in the Greater Lansing area, or you can tune in
internationally on the web on www.wlnz.org  - hosted by Mike Stratton,
Sunday nights, 9- midnight, Eastern Standard Time.

Feel free to forward this to friends.

If you’ve received this and would like to be removed from the list simply
contact me at dreamtrane at sbcglobal.net

You can use that same address for promotional information.

For more information, visit www.mikestratton.com


DECADES: 2000s

What a long, strange trip it’s been. The Vinyl Side of Midnight wraps up the
series of DECADES shows with a review of the past ten years. The line up is
strong and some tough choices made. What, no Keith Jarrett? New influences
are felt from world to hip hop to classical spheres. The Lansing area
experiences a renaissance of jazz with the twin influences of a top notch
jazz department at MSU (under the guidance of Rodney Whitaker) and the jewel
of Old Town, the Creole Gallery, through the efforts of Robert Busby and
Meegan Holland. An amazing decade indeed. Musical ‘beds’ are made up from
popular and significant records of the last few years. Check it all out on
Sunday night.

Dave Douglas - Blue Heaven; SOUL ON SOUL (RCA Victor)

Joe Lovano - Don’t Ever Leave Me; JOYOUS ENCOUNTERS (Blue Note)

Jason Moran - Planet Rock; MODERNISTIC (Blue Note)

Justin Timberlake - Sexyback; FUTURE/SEX/LOVESOUNDS (Jive)

Dianna Krall - The Look of Love (title track); (Verve)

Maria Schneider Orchestra - Sky Blue (title track); (artist share)

Amy Winehouse - Back to Black (title track); (Universal Republic)

Herbie Hancock w/Tina Turner - Edith and the Kingpin; RIVER (Verve)

Wayne Shorter Quartet - Masquelero; FOOTPRINTS LIVE! (Verve)

No Doubt - Hella Good; ROCK STEADY (Interscope Records)

Kenny Garrett - Realization; BEYOND THE WALL (Nonesuch)

Dave Holland Big Band - Blues For C.M.; WHAT GOES AROUND (ECM)

Snoop Dogg - It Blows My Mind; THE NEPTUNES PRESENT...CLONES (Arista

Greg Osby - Ashes; THE INVISIBLE HAND (Blue Note)

Andrew Hill - Tough Love; DUSK (Palmetto Records)

LCD Soundsystem - North American; SOUND OF SILVER (Capitol)

John Hollenbeck Large Ensemble - Folkmoot; A BLESSING (Omnitone)

Chris Potter 10 - Closer to the Sun; SONG FOR ANYONE (Sunnyside)

Bjork - The Pleasure is All Mine; MEDULLA (Elektra)

David Murray Octet - Giant Steps; OCTET PLAYS TRANE (Justin Time Records)

Ornette Coleman - Turnaround; SOUND GRAMMAR (Phrase Text)

William Parker Quartet - Wood Flute Song; SOUND UNITY (AUM Fidelity)

Toumani Diabate - Mali Sadio; BOULEVARD DE L’INDEPENDANCE (Nonesuch)

Vijay Iyer - Infogee’s Cakewalk; REIMAGINING (Savoy Jazz)

Rudresh Mahanthappa - Ganesha; KINSMEN (Pi Recordings)

M.I.A. - Pull Up The People; ARULAR (Interscope Records)

Tomasz Stanko Quartet - I; SOUL OF THINGS (ECM)

Charles Lloyd - Tales of Rumi; SANGAM (ECM)

Hamsa Lila - Eh Mustapha; GATHERING ONE (BRG)

Karrin Allyson - Never Say Yes; FOOTPRINTS (Concord)

Kurt Elling - I Like The Sunrise; NIGHTMOVES (Concord)

More information about the jazzproglist mailing list